Road to Norbert’s – 31st January

Coventry's shortest cycle lane.... or is it our very own cycle sprint track with covered spectator area?

You know one of those grey days where there is really no weather, it’s just depressing damp claggy dullness, well this was one of those days. Early on, I went out and there was just the slightest hint of snow in the air………. But the greyness was that depressing even the clouds couldn’t be arsed to snow.

I was riding over to Norbert’s in Ryton on Dunsmore to pick up some overshoes, so decided to go out via Wolston rather than braving the A45. All the time I was looking, for something interesting to photograph, but was failing to spot anything…. I don’t think it helped that it was pretty cold (+1degC) so taking off my Sealskin gloves to get a photo wasn’t high on my list of priorities.

In a field alongside the road that links Wolston to the A45 I noticed some scumbag had been flytipping so I stopped and took some photos, they looked OK, and a couple I was happy with and could have made the ride picture.

I carried on to Norbert’s, where he had turned his living room into a studio and was doing a job photographing African jewelery…… His cameras……wow, very nice, Nikons, £3500 for the camera bodies alone, plus several hundred to a thousand for a lens…….. I put my little Olympus Utough next to them, my screen was about the same size, but other than that there’s no comparison. They’re premiership to my enthusiastic pub side.

I got my kit on to leave and slipped my camera in my pocket. You couldn’t do that with the Nikons 🙂

As I got the other side of Tollbar island on the A45 and headed up the London Road I spotted one of my favorite bits of council crazyness, the shortest cycle path in Coventry. I had to stop and take a photo as it makes me smile everytime I see it. That was the shot I’d use, one to cheer up an otherwise dreary ride.

Further towards town I bumped into Pav going to get his new headset from the Post Office. He was his Dads bike, not the coolest bike, but hey, it’s two wheels, so fair play to him.

Then at the A45/A46 junction there was a car facing the wrong way reversed into the barriers……

I could have taken photos of Pav or the accident,, but didn’t bother as I’d made my mind up that the cycle path shot was the one..

Ride – #18     Bike – Genesis DayOne Alfine

Miles – 16.5     Total 2012 miles – 349.1

Leave a Reply

