Local Road Ride – 16th April

Just an easy ride over to see the folks and stretch my legs after my 29er jump bike hell yesterday. Went through the War Memorial Park on the way, and was quite suprised how nice it was. I remember the place being a bit run down, the cafe’s shut and the shelters being vandalised and smelling of piss. Looks like a lot of effort has gone into tidying the place up and it’s now looks really good.

I remember trips there as a kid, going on the swings and slides. We’d run about looking at the plaques by the trees, playing a kind of ‘top trumps’ game, find the ‘youngest soldier’ etc without really giving them and their significance any thought.

I had the first bike I ever built myself stolen there while I was playing football with my mates. A British Racing Green tracker with cowhorn bars and only a rear brake, it was stunning. I’d spent hours stripping the frame, repainting it and building it up, and some thieving scrote helped themselves to it…..bastard! I remember seeing it disappear into the distance, oh to have had a snipers rifle!

Ride – #62     Bike – Genesis DayOne Alfine

Miles – 12.4     Total 2012 miles – 1410.9

Leave a Reply

