The Woburn alternative, Elkins – 14th May

Does it really have tyres that big or is the Lysergic Acid Diethylamide beginning to kick in?

After the evening at Norberts caravan watching the Man City victory on every news channel ūüôā the plan was to head back up the M1 and stop off at Woburn Sands. I’ve ridden there a tew times, but always with someone who knows the place, but I was sure I could ride for a couple of hours without getting lost if I didn’t stray too far off the beaten track.

The forecast the previous night was for a band of rain tracking South. There was a hint of rain in the¬† air but I got my riding kit on at the caravan anyway. Heading round the M25 in the rush hour traffic the rain was steadily getting heavier, onto the M1 and it was¬†coming down quite heavy. I was hoping¬†the band of rain would be quite narrow and I’d be out the other side at the Woburn turn off. But no, it¬†was just as bad, so I decided to head home and get some mundane jobs done. It took till Watford Gap services before¬†the rain eased, and by the time I hit the outskirts of Coventry had stopped and the cloud was breaking up.

A trip to ASDA then home, sorting the weekends mucky kit out pretty much as soon as I got in. Always the best option, as opening a bag of 2 day old muddy, sweaty kit is a pretty bad experience!

The washing machine was merrily doing its thing, I was still in my riding kit, and the sun was occasionally peeking through the clouds…. Off to Elkins¬†for a bit of fun on the Muk……

Ride – #81¬†¬†¬†¬† Bike – ’12 Salsa Mukluk

Miles –¬†12.6¬†¬†¬†¬† Total 2012 miles – 1698.2

Leave a Reply

