Lanes and Olympics – 24th July

I struggled to get motivated to go out to be honest, as my legs were screaming ‘no more’ after 80+ road miles since Sunday dinnertime. But I’m so glad I did, the heat had dropped nicely, and the low sun gave everything that nice warm glow.

I stuck to the plan, my usual loop round the lanes, then down to the Ricoh Arena…. or should I say “City of Coventry Stadium” as we can’t mention Ricoh as they’re not an Olympic partner company. A sign I saw yesterday made me grin. As you come off the M6 at junction 3 it’s there telling you “For City of Coventry Stadium follow signs for Ricoh Arena”…. it’s a shame about the corporate bollocks that goes with the Olympics. The torch arriving in the City was a great example of that, everyone having to watch an hour and a half of stuff sponsored by, Samsung, LloydsTSB or Coca-cola….. it must work…. I remembered their names!

The difference in rolling resistance between road tyres and the Mukluk’s ‘snow’ tyres was quite amazing and took a bit of getting used to. Stop pedalling on the flat and it slows down… quickly!

I got to the Ricoh and with less than 24 hours to go till the first match there is a definate buzz in the air! The Olympic games are coming to Coventry…. bloody hell! How mad is that!

Ride – #120     Bike – ’12 Salsa Mukluk

Miles – 15.3     Total 2012 miles – 2528.6

Strava – http://app.strava.com/rides/14365387

Leave a Reply

