“Snooze…..You Lose” – 7th September

With the tyres I’m going to be using on Sunday fitted and an hour free I decided to do one of my ‘loops’ at a decent pace. According to my cycle computer my average was 16.0 mph, which on a mountain bike isn’t bad… although I know I could have pushed a bit harder in places.

The Shakespeare 100k (62mi 241yds) has finishing time brackets (I’ve no idea what you get different if anything) for my age group (Veterans) they are <3h 55m = Gold, <4h 20m = Silver, <4h 50m = Bronze. Now, to get a gold thats an ‘average’ speed of above 15.85mph. So a gold finish is possible, but it’s going to be bloody hard work!

At the points where I would have backed off a bit today I’ll need to chant one of my race ‘mantra’s – see the blog title. I’ve got a few, I use them when I’m racing, if I start to have negative thoughts or I loose my focus. I have no idea if anyone else does this, as I’ve never mentioned it to anyone before. Or this may flag me up as a bit of a nut job!

Ride – #148     Bike – Trek Superfly Al Elite

Miles – 13.1     Total 2012 miles – 3198.7

Strava – http://app.strava.com/rides/21129253

Leave a Reply

