Sefton Coast Ride – 11th October

Another ‘Fat’ Place

After an early breakfast (Thanks to the owners of the B&B agreeing to do mine half an hour early – Baytrees in Southport, I’d highly recommend them) I headed to the meeting point at Maghull, in the car park of the Octoplast factory…. I was sure I was in the right place, but the name on the building was wrong, I checked the info again, Old Racecourse Road, Yes…. Octoplast, No…..Hmmmm. Soon John and Andy turned up, I was in the right place, the company had just changed hands! Soon Richard and Shona arrived and we headed off ….

Sorry this is going to be a quick one as I’m quite busy and I’m not going to have time to write it up properly

We basically rode the canal towpath past Aintree race course (Canal Turn) and then headed onto the beach at Crosby, and explored the Antony Gormley’s “Another Place” Info here -> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Another_Place

We then headed North around a MOD rifle range, then back on the beach. Eventually we got to Ainsdale nature reserve, and spent a fair bit of time in there.

Due to some punctures and mechanical issues we were running a bit late by this point so missed out the section that me and Andy had ridden on the Saturday night and headed back down the Cheshire Lines (a cycle path on an old railway that links Maghull and Southport) to the cars

A great days riding, shame my camera had broken and I was forced to use the camera in my phone 😦

Ride – #190     Bike – ’12 Salsa Mukluk 3

Miles – 36.8     Total 2012 miles – 4230.4   (769.6 to hit 5000)

Stravahttp://app.strava.com/rides/27513763

Leave a Reply

