Bucks Off Road Sportive – 12th May

I struggled right from the start. Originally I’d intended to try and get a really fast time on the 100k route, but as soon as we hit the first climb my legs felt heavy. So I decided to Stick with Lump and Andy, as they were going at a reasonable pace and were doing the 100k too.

P1010185a

P1010187a

P1010189a

We got to the first food stop and found Den and Chris who’d set off earlier on the 132k route. Den had damaged his wheel rim and cut the sidewall off his tyre. As he was running tubeless, he’d gone to fit his spare tube, only to find it was a 29″ tube and the bike he was riding had 26″ wheels…. oh how we chuckled!

P1010191a

We also found out why Lump kept losing his chain off his front chainring…. a bent tooth. This was extracted using some pliers. This helped alot and the regular stops to refit his chain became regular stops to water the scenery….

P1010192a

All was well till just after the first food stop at 40 kilometers…. then my legs just died. I could plod along in a spinning gear, but as soon as I hit any kind of hill or anywhere that required me to up the power I just couldn’t do it. It felt like I was riding through glue!

For the next 40k I just about hung onto them, it was only the last 20 that my legs came back a bit, and then only for short periods. I managed to complete the course in 5h 30m, which isn’t a bad time, but I’m sure I could have done it in just over 5 hours if my legs had been OK….

In the words of Forrest Gump “That’s about all I got to say bout that.”

Leave a Reply

